S.Sudan swears national unity gov’t, but who takes responsibility for all the bloodshed & massacres?

30 Apr

Posted by The Ethiopia Observatory (TEO)
by Sudan Tribune

(JUBA) – The newly appointed South Sudan’s ministers of the transitional government of national unity have been sworn in on Friday, a day after they were appointed.

The country saw the swearing in of cabinet ministers appointed on Thursday in preparations to complete formation of the transitional government of national unity, ending months of uncertainty.

Thirty full cabinet ministers and seven deputy ministers took oath of office in a function presided over by President Salva Kiir and his two deputies, Riek Machar and James Wani Igga.

Kiir urged the newly appointed ministers to put the interest of the nation first in the execution of their duties.

He enjoined new ministers to make good use of the opportunities provided to them to serve their nation, and reminded them that their appointments were based on trust and confidence

The new cabinet is a mix up of old and new faces. They took three oaths of office, secrecy and allegiance, administered by the Chief Justice, Chan Reec Madut.

Speaking at the occasion, Kiir thanked the officials for accepting the positions to be part of a team that he said will, by God’s grace, bring the country to prosperity that “most people think will be a far-fetched dream.”

“Nothing is beyond the reach of God and nothing is beyond His reach. If you have faith in God, with His support, there is nothing that you cannot achieve in this world,” said Kiir while emphasizing on institutional cooperation in the delivery of services to the people.

This comes after President Kiir on Thursday evening dissolved his cabinet and formed the new one in compliance with the August 2015 Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan.

The head of state, according to the broadcast by the state owned South Sudan television on Thursday, appointed 16 full ministers, 4 deputies from his group and 10 senior ministers and 2 deputies from armed opposition under the overall leadership of the first vice president, Riek Machar.

Two full ministers and one deputy from the group of former detainees, two full ministers from other political parties with one deputy were also appointed.

%d bloggers like this: